Request Information

Duplin County Students Receive Awards at MOC


MOUNT OLIVE - Many Duplin County students were recognized for their achievements at University of Mount Olive’s Annual Awards Ceremony. Among those receiving awards were:

David Wilson of Wallace received The Edwin Sutherland Award. Wilson is a senior criminal justice and criminology major. The Edwin Sutherland Award is named after a leading figure in criminal justice theory and research. The award is given to the criminal justice student who best exhibits excellence in academics. The recipient is selected duplin county, king, wilson, awards day, meza, donnell, clarkby the criminal justice student awards committee.

Joshua King of Faison received the Charles B. and Margenette A. Hinnant Music Scholarship. King is a senior music major. The Charles B. and Margenette A. Hinnant Music Scholarship is given in memory of both Margenette A. Hinnant and Charles B. Hinnant, a former trustee of University of Mount Olive. The recipient, a music major who exhibits exceptional talent, is chosen by the music faculty.

Josiah King of Faison received the Outstanding Art/Visual Communication Student of the Year Award and the Art and Visual Communication Award. King graduated from MOC in December of 2012 as an art major. The Art and Visual Communication Award is given to the senior student who best exemplifies the ideals of a successful Art or Visual Communication major by demonstrating discipline, creativity and integrity.

Kayla Meza of Wallace received the President's Citizenship Award. Meza is a junior exercise science  major. The President’s Citizenship Award, first awarded in 1972, is a scholarship sponsored by President and Mrs. Philip P. Kerstetter. The award is presented to a returning student who has made the greatest contribution to the College during the academic year. The scholarship is payable on future educational expenses at University of Mount Olive. The recipient is chosen by a ballot of the student body.

Larry Donnell  Davis of Albertson received the Business Management/Organizational Behavior Student of the Year Award. Davis is a senior management and organizational development major. 

Laura Clark of Warsaw received the Handy Mart Business Scholarship. Clark is a junior human resources management  major. The Handy Mart Business Scholarship is sponsored by E. J. and Judson Pope who select two rising juniors majoring in Business Administration who best exhibit excellence in academics, college and community service and civic responsibility.

University of Mount Olive is a private institution rooted in the liberal arts tradition with defining Christian values. The College, sponsored by the Convention of Original Free Will Baptists, has locations in Mount Olive, New Bern, Wilmington, Goldsboro, Research Triangle Park and Washington. For more information, visit