Request Information

Academic Support Services Team

Need a bit of extra help, feeling insecure, or just don’t know where to turn? The Academic Support Services Team is here to help you along your academic journey at the University of Mount Olive!

Click on one of these support service areas to learn more:

To learn more about one of the many events being held by the Academic Support Services Team, click on the calendar of events.

Need a hand? We are here to help!

Sonya O’Brien
Sonya O'Brien
Director of Traditional Advising
(919) 658-7867
sobrien@umo.edu

David Shields
Academic Resource Center Director
(919) 299-4931
dshields@umo.edu

Laurica Yancey
Laurica Yancey
Coordinator of Disability Services Director of Career Services
(919) 658-7750
lyancey@umo.edu

Denise Crocker
Assistant Director of Career Services
(919) 658-7497
dcrocker@umo.edu

Jackie Hill
Jackie Hill
Instruction Librarian
(919) 658-4917
jhill@umo.edu

Dr. Alexis Poe Davis
Alexis Davis
Director of the Writing Center
(919) 658-7843
adavis@umo.edu

Shanawa Scott
​Writing Center Coordinator
(919) 658-7772
ssscott@umo.edu

Leigh Shaffer
Director, Non-Traditional Advising
(919) 658-7848
lshaffer@umo.edu